Katybug273's Blog











{November 22, 2011}   Let’s Talk Stuffing……

Stuffing is the one thing the traditionalist will make sure is on the table on Thursday.  But how do you like yours?

My mom was a devoted fan of Stove Top.  I didn’t even know there was another way to make stuffing until after I’d been married a few years.  She never stuffed the bird because my dad hated the stuff and didn’t want it to touch his sacred turkey.

My mother in law is big on tradition.  She & her sisters use their mother’s recipes for most of the Thanksgiving dinner on the years she hosts.  The stuffing is stuffed in the bird and done the old fashioned way.

I tend to be more of an experiment cook.  I will try new things.  I will try old things.  I rarely do the same thing two years in a row where the stuffing is concerned but I’m still on the search for that elusive stuffing that is absolutely perfect.  My sister in law makes one but she now lives 19 hours away and I have yet to bribe her efficiently enough to get her recipe.  Therefore I am left to guess and randomly combine identifiable ingredients until the year I figure it out.

I have tried stuffing the turkey but I just don’t care for it that way.  The stuffing seems overly soggy and mushy.  I want a little bit of texture with my stuffing.  There are the obvious health reasons not to do so as well.

This year I set out with a goal in mind – to rip my sister in law’s recipe off.  I miss her stuffing!!!! Will I be successful? Probably not but maybe seeing my blog post of desperate attempts will cause her heart to have empathy for me?  I set out on a shopping spree to make sure I had everything I could see & taste in her stuffing.  I am all excited and ready to cook it in two days.  Then I realized – I didn’t buy water chestnuts.  And I know there are water chestnuts in her stuffing.   They are crisp and not only have their own flavor but help absorb some of the other ingredients and give you a perfect bite.    So I will be off to the store (or crazy hell known as last minute holiday dinner shopping) to pick those up this evening.

Aside from the forgotten water chestnuts, this is the recipe I intend to test out Thursday, feel free to leave yours! (Especially if you use one similar to this one!)

1 box of Mrs Cubbison’s Stuffing

1 can of chicken broth

1 Tablespoon of Sage

1 package of fresh Baby Bella Mushrooms (sliced)

Fresh Celery (chopped)

Onions (chopped)

A few spoons of butter or Best Life spread

Saute the fresh veggies in a skillet with the butter.  Combine all the ingredients in a casserole dish and bake in the oven at 350 for 30 minutes.  Uncover and bake another 5-10 minutes to “crisp” the top.

 

Update: I decided to whip it up stove top and the cubes got added with the veggies so the texture was a little mushy but the flavors were spot on delicious.  I haven’t made one this good before.  I wound up adding a pinch of nutmeg, a pinch of cinnamon, and sage as seasoning and foregoing the water chestnuts.  I also added a spoon of butter to the finished product.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
